IT150 @ Carlow

Make a Difference in People’s Lives

Group Project Reflections

with 2 comments

Purple Group: Ashley Poore, Adrienne Marsolino, Jordan Lumbatis

Overall, the group project wasn’t hard for us, it was just very tedious at times. We picked which business we were going to use quickly by just picking one that we came up with when we had to draft our ideas. We decided on Ann Taylor Loft becuase we all had an interest in the company and Jordan works there, which was able to help us gain more informatin on the company. Through each draft that we did we refined each one to be better and go into more detail about what we think would help Ann Taylor fix their scheduling problem. We didn’t run into many obstacles except trying to find a software that would fit the company and woudn’t cost much. Our breakthrough came when we fianlly did find a cost efficient software that would work well with Ann Taylor. Once we came to our final draft of the paper everything fit together and shows how Ann Taylor will benefit from this software.

Ashley: I think the hardest part about working on this project was not knowing exactly how Ann Taylor ran their business. I kind of had an idea of why many of the employees at Ann Taylor got frusturated with the scheduling system because the restaurant I work at uses the same kind of system. This system is just writing down when you can work on the back of the schedule. However, since I only knew little about it and what Jordan told us I decided to do a little bit of research on my own to find out more about the comapny. Once I did that I was able to understant more about the company and what they had to work with technology wise. One of the best things I learned from this project is that there are many different technologies available for companies to use for this kind of problem, most of which are fairly inexpensive. By doing this project, it has helped me to understand which course concepts would apply to a company like this with the same problems and which concepts would not. The main concept that I feel applies to this project is Business Intelligence. I feel that this concept applies because it deals with business performance management, competitive intelligence and much more. Those two things that I mentioned play a major part within Ann Taylor. Since Ann Taylor is a competitive women’s clothing store they need to be as technology savy as their other competitors while making wise decisions to enhance performance such as sales. Because of this is one of the many reasons I feel that this concept applies. Overall, I feel that the project went very well and I learned alot from it and learned more about the concepts that we talked about in class. I feel that I have a better understanding of them from doing this project and hope that I can continue to use these concepts in the future.

Jordan: The hardest part about working on this project was finding times to meet with my group in person. As an Ann Taylor Loft employee, I knew a lot about their scheduling system and was able to give a lot of insight into the company. The best thing I learned from this project was how information systems really can help business run more effieciently. Technology is available all around us and we should take advantage of it. I also learned that working in a group project is not totally horrible. I was fortunate to have a great group! This project really helped me to under stand how BI or business intelligence can be helped with technology. Scheduling of employees is very important to BI because you need to know how many employees are needed for each shift.

Adrienne: I felt the hardest part of working on this project was trying to figure out the estimated costs for our proposal. I had to go to several websites to determine what all the costs would be. It was very time consuming. The best thing I learned was there are many types of systems that help improve the running of a business. The scheduling software for the Loft would be inexpensive and would free up more time for all of the employees. It is a great example of information systems that help businesses. This project helped me to understand BI better because our project was all about Ann Taylor Loft keeping better schedules for their employees by the management. This system deals with a process that managers have to continuously perform and makes the task simpler while reducinig errors.

Written by ampoore86

December 1, 2009 at 6:41 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think it is interesting that all of the members of the group found different difficulties finding time to meet. Even with all of the new forms of technology focused on communication, it is still difficult for people to find time to sit down together.

    jennybourne

    August 30, 2010 at 7:52 pm

  2. Jenny, this is an excellent insight. As we will see in class, an information system includes both a people element and a technology element. Your friends in computer science may be experts on the technology side, but in this class we’ll tackle the human element as well – which, as you have pointed out rightly, is not a trivial problem to solve even with wonderful technologies!

    Rachel

    Rachel Chung

    August 31, 2010 at 11:10 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

