IT150 @ Carlow

Make a Difference in People’s Lives

Reflections on the Group Project

with 2 comments

Cette Groupe: Shaina Bazyk, Ebonie Chestnut, Michelle Petek

This project proved to be an unexpected challenge for us all.  First, the problem of finding a business to investigate proved to be an issue: some options seemed to daunting, others far too easy.  In the end, though, we found that The VILLA’s particular circumstances proved to be a tasking but ultimately rewarding case.  Examining a business’ information systems problems without much prior knowledge or experience in the field proved rather difficult at times, but we feel that our combined knowledge, as well as a bit of support from the instructor, helped our project greatly. 

Personal Reflections

Shaina:  I feel that this project presented an unexpected opportunity for academic growth.  Coming from the farthest extreme of any business-oriented field (my major is Creative Writing), I initially had a hard time thinking about The VILLA in any kind of practical way.  Grounding our ideas in plausibility proved a challenge for us all, but I feel especially for myself.  I feel that both our instructor’s and our fellow students’ feedback really improved upon our ideas.  Overall, I feel that the best thing I learned from this project is the useful knack of grounding my ideas in practicality instead of novelty.  Our project helped me personally learn about SCM – The VILLA’s apparel options are greatly impacted by their vendors’ availability of items.  As this affects the company’s overall success, this fact really helped emphasize the importance of a good SCM system.

Michelle:  The hardest thing about working on this project was going into it from a non-business perspective.  Being a non-business major,  I was not aware how many technological processes go into running a business.  I had just never really considered it before.   Also, before working on this project, I was unaware of the existence of The VILLA, and knew nothing about both its focus and its business processes, therefore making it hard to understand what exactly needed to be done to improve their overall business.  The best thing I learned from this project is how creative the girls in my group are, especially with our suggestion of using My Virtual Model (even if this idea was not entirely practical).  This project helped me realize how much a well-organized and well-programmed database can improve a business.

Ebonie:  The hardest thing about working on this project was the fact that I actually work at The VILLA.  Because I am so involved with The VILLA’s operations, and know so much about how the company works, it was difficult to take a step back and look at the bigger picture.   Getting outside that mindset was hard at first, but I feel that there was a balance within my group that allowed me to look at The VILLA’s processes in more detail.   While my closeness to The VILLA was my greatest difficulty, I also feel that it brought about the best thing that I learned from this project.  It helped me learn how to examine a business more closely.  This project helped me learn about IT’s overall role in business, and how much of an impact a a system (good or bad) can have on any business.

Looking good...and matched!

Written by bazyksd

December 1, 2009 at 3:41 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This entry is interesting in that even though the group had to work around their non-business major issues, they were still able to fulfill the assignment. It gives me hope that I’ll be able to do well with my business background, but also shows a different perspective to take if I happen to need one.

    Katie Bertha

    August 31, 2010 at 11:41 pm

  2. Katie, everyone finishes the group project! I have not seen a group that cannot complete the group project. You can do it!

    Rachel Chung

    September 3, 2010 at 4:14 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

