IT150 @ Carlow

Make a Difference in People’s Lives

with 3 comments

Puma by code_martial.

Kristal- The hardest part of the project for me was trying to find the time to meet with my group members because we all have very tough schedules. Although we are all very busy, we worked around our schedules and were very successful with this project idea. The best thing that I have learned from this would just be the different kinds of information systems that can be used in a variety of ways. I never really thought about all of the options there are for making companies better, but now that we have done this project I have noticed a lot of things that could be made better in stores by adding a new information system. This project really helped with learning about course topics because you had to know what all of the information systems were before you could successfully work on the project. By needing to know what all of these were required you to read the book and be attentive in class.

Chrissy- The hardest part of the project for me was making time to actually work on the project. We are all very busy and it was very difficult to find a time when all of us can meet. Another very difficult part of the project was figuring out such things as costs, benefits, and risks. The most valuable thing that I have learned from this project was that just because an idea seems good to one person, does not mean that the idea should be implemented or that the idea will be beneficial. This project helped learn about course topics because a lot of the new topics we learned about may be useful to implement the system. For example, a database may be used to implement information regarding customer’s wants and needs based from information that the customer entered into the system through the kiosk.  Overall, the project was very beneficial in many ways and was a very rewarding experience.

Steve- The hardest part of this project was not the actual research involved or the writing of the papers, but it was trying to find the time to meet as a group to work on the project.  We were not too keen on the virtual group meetings or mass e-mails or discussion boards or anything like that.  We all agreed on meeting face to face.  I think the best thing I learned was you do not have to be a professional or even an expert on the topic of information systems to come up with a usable idea.  We were able to come up with an idea that can be proposed to the actual company of PUMA and we are still in the beginning stages of learning about IT.  I believe this was one of the most valuable things learned.  This project also helped me learn about course topics through all of the research that went in to it.  Even the things like EXCEL and ACCESS were helpful in simply putting together tables for the costs and benefits.  We also even attempted all of the online meeting tools that we discussed in class.  It was a valuable project and one that helped me understand that you do not have to be an expert in IT to change my own life or a companies.

Written by kristal15

December 2, 2009 at 8:13 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The blog that I found most interesting was the blog by Krissy. I felt that she showed the determination needed to succeed in this class by making her self available to her team. The other members have shown the same amount of initiative toward success. Although I do not know the class mates in my team if we blend together we can be just as successful.

    Harvey Germany

    May 15, 2010 at 5:16 pm

  2. The blog by “Steve” I found to be more in tune with my own experience. Trying to meet as a group in this type of situation is extremely difficult, and virtual group meetings as well as, e-mail, discussion boards, and so on….do have their limitations. Especially in the case of e-mails and discussion board,s which can be easliy misinterpreted, and are a slow form of communication.

    Always found face to face group meetings,especially with Brainstorming sessions, to be so much more conducive to a productive and creative interaction and outcome. E-mails and so on are good communication tools afterthe Kick-off meeting(s).

    Virtual and tele-conferencing have the greatest advantage and application where distance is a factor and consideration.

    Jim Harrison

    May 21, 2010 at 7:26 pm

  3. The blog I found most interesting was the blog by “Kristal.” The first reason why I found it interesting was because her biggest problem about the project was finding time to meet up with her fellow group members. Last year I was a resident living on Carlow’s campus, so finding time to meet up with my group members wasn’t a worry for me. But now I have decided to commute. My biggest fear with projects like these is finding the time that would suite me and my group members the best. As Kristal said, she was able to make it through and able to see the true importance of the project. Clearly this gave me some sort of “sigh of relief.” Also Kristal went on to say what she learned about the benefits of technology especially on businesses. I currently am a manager at CVS Pharmacy located in downtown Pittsburgh. I know what a huge help technology can be to a company and especially to my store! I am looking forward to learn a lot!

    nathalieannruiz

    August 31, 2010 at 8:51 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

