IT150 @ Carlow

Make a Difference in People’s Lives

Reflection on IT150: Spring ’09

with one comment

When I first signed up for this class, I honestly was not sure what it would entail. I did, however, think that it would be one of my easier classes for the semester. This was not the case.

Being told on the first day that this was not going to be an easy class kind of scared me and almost made me want to drop it. Then I decided that I would go through with it and continue in the class knowing that it would be a lot of work. IT 150 was definitely a lot of work.

The assignments keep coming non-stop and the Google Online Market Challenge hovers in the background with its own assignments. Now, looking back on the semester, I realize that every assignment taught me something new or built upon skills I already had.

The Google Online Marketing Challenge introduced me to a whole new concept that I had no knowledge about. The project was difficult at times and took a lot of work to understand the logistics of online marketing and how it worked. Once you figure it out though, it’s actually sort of fun to watch and see who is visiting your client’s website and the number of clicks. Completing this advertising challenge has even helped me with interviews and given me a “real life” experience to reference.

Some assignments were difficult and there were times when I had no idea what I was doing, but Rachel was always willing to help. She was available to assist students all the time and answered email questions very promptly. Having an instructor that was dedicated to the class made it easier to keep up with the work and learn.

I had yet to realize all the new skills I have acquired in this course until we did the assignment about our resumes.  The “Enterprise Me” lecture really got me thinking about how important it is to stay informed and read up on people in my desired career area.  The lecture got me thinking and I am going to try to read up on accounting more often and try to subscribe to an online newsletter to stay informed.  I think that the lecture was a good way to get the class to start thinking about careers and how to make you marketable after college.

Overall, this class was a lot of work and taught me many new things that will follow me into my future career.

Written by cburns7181

April 8, 2009 at 11:04 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. As i was reading this I could relate to the not sure what to expect and thinking after being told this wasn’t going to be an easy class, if i really wanted to go through with it. After reading some of the postings, I hope i can take as much away from it as some others have.

    eboniec

    September 1, 2009 at 8:53 pm


Leave a comment